Rewey Belle Inglis Award

Call for Nominations



Each year, the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) recognizes an Outstanding Woman in English Education with an award named for Rewey Belle Inglis, the first woman president of NCTE. All women considered for this honor will have exhibited outstanding professional service relating to the role and image of women in the profession and in NCTE. The Inglis Award recipient will have shown excellence in

scholarship/research, teaching, and service related to English language arts. The Inglis Award committee, made up of members of the Women in Literacy and Life Assembly of NCTE (WILLA), is charged with selecting the recipient of the Rewey Belle Inglis Award. Please send a letter of nomination detailing how the nominee's qualifications match the award criteria and a copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae to:

Dr. Lynne Alvine, Inglis Award Chair 110 Leonard Hall, 121 North Walk Indiana University of Pennsylvania Indiana, PA 15705-1094

For full consideration, nominations should arrive by June 1. The recipient will be notified of her selection and will be honored at the CEE Luncheon at the annual NCTE Convention.

Past Rewey Belle Inglis Award Recipients

2011: Cathy Fleischer		
2010: Anne Ruggles Gere	2002: Marilyn Wilson	1994: Nancy Martin
2009: Patricia Lambert Stock	2001: Dure Jo Gillikin	1993: Janet
Emig		
2008: Suzanne Miller	2000: Muriel Harris	1992: Ruth K. J.
Cline		
2007: Lynne Alvine	1999: Mille Davis	1991: Jeanne Gerlach
2006: Nancy McCracken	1998: Betty Jane Wagner	1990: Jane
Christensen		
2005: Beverly Chin	1997: Leila Christenbury	1989: Alleen Nilsen
2004: Patricia Kelly	1996: Dorothy Strickland	
2003: Diana Mitchell	1995: Nancy McHugh	